2023 Alaska Dental Society Annual Meeting Speakers

Photo of speaker

JOYCE BASSETT, DDS, FAACD, FAGD, practices comprehensive restorative and aesthetic dentistry in Scottsdale, Arizona. She is an Accredited Fellow of the American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry and President 2015-2016. She is a Diplomate of the American Board of Aesthetic Dentistry, an Associate Member of the American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry, a KOIS Clinical Instructor, an active member in the Academy of Fixed Prosthodontics, and a Fellow in the AGD. 

Dr. Bassett also has served as adjunct faculty, teaching the aesthetic continuum at the Arizona School of Dentistry. She is a member of the Catapult Group speaker’s bureau, voted one of the top five female CE educators. Bassett is an international lecturer, published author, and member of the editorial board of several peer-reviewed publications. The cases presented in her lectures are all published in peer review journals (http://www.drbassett.com/publications.html) . 

She is a recipient of the Lucy Hobbs award for Clinical Expertise, the AACD Evy Award for Excellence in Teaching Cosmetic Dentistry Education, the Volunteer Dentist of the Year award for Arizona CASS dental clinic, and she has received the Give Back a Smile volunteer service award twice.

photo of speaker

TAMMY STAIGER, RDH since 1995, believes making an impact on dental teams will positively affect the overall patient experience and increase treatment acceptance. Her primary goal in patient care is to bring a level of compassion, connection, and communication to each person. She is honored to be a member of the Align Global Faculty, and is the only member to have received the Align Faculty Hygiene Educator of the Year Award. Tammy enjoys sharing her knowledge both clinically with patients and with dental professionals, helping to make the connection between occlusion and overall health. She has practiced in both private practice and Dental Support Organizations, and consults with offices to help them increase Invisalign case acceptance and integrate digital scanning into everyday dentistry.  

TaylorDR. BARRY TAYLOR is the Executive Director of the Oregon Dental Association and is on faculty at the OHSU School of Dentistry as a Clinical  Assistant Professor in Restorative Dentistry.  He currently serves as the facilitator for the OHSU School of Dentistry Pain Management and Substance Use Disorders Dental ECHO.  Prior to attending the OHSU School of Dentistry he worked as a research assistant for two year in the field of Neuropsychopharmacology at the U.S. Veteran’s Hospital in Portland, Oregon. Dr. Taylor was in private practice before joining the School of Dentistry faculty in 2012. Dr. Taylor has had leadership positions in the Oregon Dental Association, Oregon Academy of General Dentistry, American College of Dentists, Academy of General Dentistry, Delta Sigma Delta and the American Dental Association. Dr. Taylor has been awarded the “Dentist of the Year” from both the Oregon AGD and the Washington County Dental Society.


JOHN TIEMESSEN, JD – Born and raised in Fairbanks, John Tiemessen has represented dental professionals for more than 30 years. He is counsel for the Alaska Dental Society and has presented continuing education on a variety of risk management topics to multiple medical and dental organizations and facilities for the past three decades. John has a B.S. in Political Science, Magna cum Laude from Arizona State University and a Juris Doctor from Willamette University College of Law.